December 4, 2014

In the wake of humility…

Posted in Humility, Unity tagged , , , , , , , at 7:27 pm by tclickenger

I love this phrasing of Proverbs 22:4

“In the wake of humility comes the fear of the Lord, even riches, and honor, and life.”

Humility is such an extraordinary quality. The Word tells us of many wonderful things that come to us as a result of humility. This verse alone tells us of four: fear of the Lord, riches, honor and life; and other scriptures reveal that there are so many more benefits.  On top of that, through practicing humility we avoid all the negative consequences of a prideful life.  Here’s the rub though, we assume that we already know what humility is and that we are already a humble person (or am I the only one who has done that). That is presumption and the ironic thing is that presumption is a symptom of pride in our life.  Humility is by far the most misunderstood and easily compromised virtues a human being can long for.

I’m sure you already know this but the fact is that we don’t have divine thinking. God even reminds us of this when He says through His prophet Isaiah (55:8-9), “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the LORD. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.” So maybe our thoughts, insights and perceptions of humility are not quite right compared to the Source of humility.

The only way I know of that brings my understanding in alignment with God’s understanding is through study, prayer, meditation (a.k.a. thinking, thinking, thinking, thinking) and just a seed investment of humility, acknowledging that we don’t have it figured out and would like to be led to a true, deep, connected understanding.

So, in the next few posts I’m going to share some insights I’ve come to through the previously mentioned process; study, meditation, prayer, observations, introspection, reflection and life experiences that bring brokenness. Of course, I still I have a lot to learn, so I would love to hear your insights. Please comment, good or bad, in agreement or disagreement.

God, my father and my king, I pray for you to continue to bring humility and it’s many spiritual blessings into my life. I also pray for the ones who respond to this message in their heart. Hold their hand through the pains as humility is birthed into their being. I pray for their humility because I love them and wish to see honor in the completion of their life. I pray these things in the name of Your first born, the One who is humble and exalted, the name of Jesus, Yeshua, Savior. Amen

Additional posts in this series: The Dangers of PrideIt’s Time to Hurt Your Pride, …but there are times when pride is a good thing, Advantages Of Humility.

6 Comments »

  1. […] my last post I mentioned four advantages gained through a humble character.  In a near future post I intend to […]

  2. […] this is post #4 in a series dealing with pride and humility.  So far I have share four benefits of humility, listed the major dangers of pride and looked at the favorable sense of pride.  In that first […]

  3. […] my last post I mentioned four advantages gained through a humble character.  In a near future post I intend to […]

  4. […] posts in this series: In the wake of humility…, The Dangers of Pride, It’s Time to Hurt Your Pride, …but there are times when pride […]

  5. […] posts in this series: In the wake of humility…, The Dangers of Pride, It’s Time to Hurt Your Pride, the Advantages of Humility and the […]

  6. […] this is post #4 in a series dealing with pride and humility.  So far I have share four benefits of humility, listed the major dangers of pride and looked at the favorable sense of pride.  In […]


Leave a Reply

